Research Guides: 10th Grade History: Databases

Citation

Citation Tips

Use Chicago Style. (17th edition, Note and Bibliography)
Don't copy and paste citations. Fill in the blanks, or export to NoodleTools.
When you take notes, be sure you know the source and page number for each note.
Publication dates should generally fall within the past 10-15 years.
In NoodleTools, scholarly journals will be cited as Journal in a Database.

In-Text Citations

Search for a Book
Click here to access the library catalog to search for physical books available in Batten Library.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook central provides access to non-fiction ebooks to support research in all subject areas.
Gale Ebooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth subject encyclopedias and reference books.
Daily Life through History This link opens in a new window
In Daily Life through History, students and researchers discover the everyday details about past eras that make historical accounts relevant and meaningful.
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras This link opens in a new window
Covers early human history around the globe—from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of scholarly journal articles. Articles are typically at least five years old.
ProQuest Central K-12 This link opens in a new window
To find scholarly journals in ProQuest, you will need to filter your sources. After you search, look for the "Source Type" filter on the lefthand side of the page. Choose "Scholarly Journals."