Research Guides: English Resources: Home

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides literary criticism on an extensive selection of literary texts. Log in with the same email address and password that you use to access your Norfolk Academy email.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
An integrated research experience, Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of scholarly journal articles. Articles are typically at least five years old.
Novelist This link opens in a new window
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central K-12 This link opens in a new window
Proquest Central K-12 provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window

Use the search box below to find books available in the Batten Library.

Batten Library provides access to two collections of ebooks available online 24/7.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from Dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED started life more than 150 years ago.
Webster's Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Provides definitions of words in the English Language.

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is a citation management tool which provides helpful templates for creating citations, taking notes, and making outlines. You must create an account while you are on campus by following this link and clicking the "Register " button. Accounts must be revalidated annually. Follow the directions to register and create an account. If your account has expired, use username: nacademy password: nabulldog